Sarah Orkin '09, Jade Scott '09 & Charlotte Hastings '10 Receive Nod to All-NESCAC Second Team


Following the vote of the NESCAC coaches, three Cardinals were deemed second-team all-NESCAC after Wesleyan's 6-9 season, good for the seventh seed in the 2009 NESCAC tournament.

Sarah Orkin '09 (#21, main photo courtesy of was honored for the third time in her career. She has been a second-team choice each of the last three seasons. Ranking fifth on the team in points this year with 27 on 19 goals and eight assists, Orkin closed out her four years with 113 points, ranking her fifth all-time at Wesleyan.

Both Jade Scott '09 (#7, photo insert lower right courtesy of and Charlotte Hastings '10 (#1, photo insert upper right courtesy of are NESCAC honorees for the first time. Hastings was second on the squad in scoring this year with 24 goals and six assists for 30 points. Starting every game over the last three years, Hastings, a midfielder, has 57 points on 39 goals and 18 helpers. Scott is a rarity on defense as she started all 62 games over the last four years. She had 20 ground balls, nine draw controls and 10 caused turnovers this season. Over the last three years, she has 65 grounders, 25 CTs and 24 DCs.

In addition to their NESCAC honors, Orkin, Hastings and Scott all made the IWLCA's Berkshire Division (Western New England) regional all-star first team while Erin McCarthy '10 earned a spot on the second team.

Wesleyan ended the year at Colby, the second seed in the NESCSC tournament, with a 21-15 loss to the eventual NESCAC champions. Of the Cardinals nine losses in 2009, eight came against teams ranked among the top 15 nationally. Six of Wesleyan opponents this year qualified for the NCAA Division III tournament.

Wesleyan greatest achievement on the field this season came against Amherst as Wesleyan ended a 15-year, 18-game losing streak to the Lord Jeffs with a 12-5 win. It also gave the Cardinals a piece of the Little Three title for the first time since 1983. As for the post-season, the USILA announced its national scholar-athlete squad and nine Cardinals were among the 407 individuals honored - Laura D'Iorio '09, Hastings, McCarthy, Tanya Moss '09, Scott, Laurel Sticklor '09, Clare Smith '10, Sarah Hoefle '09 and Orkin. Wesleyan's nine honorees was the most of any college in any division for the season. Stanford was next with eight. No other Division III team had more than six.