Field Hockey

Eight Returning Starters, 16 Letterwinners to Carry the Load for Promising 2014 Field Hockey Season

Returning 16 letterwinners from the 6-9 squad of 2013 which posted a 4-6 record in the ultra-competitive NESCAC, the Cardinals have eight starters back to keep Wesleyan fighting hard against the nation's best.  Five of the last seven NCAA Division III champions have come from the ranks of the NESCAC with eight NESCAC squads competing in those seven title matches.

Leading the Cardinals into 2014 are team co-captains Anna Howard '15 (left side photo) and Hannah Plappert '16 (right side photo).  With the graduation of top scorers Blair Ingraham '14, who was all-NESCAC and all-region, and Amber Bruckner '14, as well as talented defender Taylor Wells '14, the Cardinals will rely on Plappert, Mackey Hemphill '15 and Michaela Celella '16 to pick up the scoring punch with assistance from Vanessa Block '15.  The Cardinals will be rock-solid on defense with starters Lilah Fones '15, Lauren Yue '17and Caitlin Majewski '16 joining Howard in the backfield.  Other returning letterwinners include Maddie Flax '16, Caroline MacNeille '16, Emily Hart '17, and Emily Weinstock-Collins '16.

Keeper Sarah Grundy '16, who played all but 59 minutes a year ago, had a 1.84 goals-against average and .792 save percentage.  Sarah Prickett '17 handled the remaining 59 minutes, allowing just one goal with five saves.  Also back as a netminder is Claire Edelman '17.

Wesleyan welcomes seven newcomers who will push the returnees to up their game as the first-years vie for starting roles.

An additional non-conference game, as the NESCAC upped the regular-season slate to 15 contests in 2014, gives the Cardinals an extra playing opportunity along with the usual 10 NESCAC matches.  Wesleyan inaugurates the campaign at home Tues., Sept. 2 again non-conference foe Roger Williams.  The opening NESCAC battle comes Sat., Sept. 6, also at home vs. defending NCAA Division III champion Bowdoin.