Wesleyan Athletics Honors 173 Scholar-Athletes, Announces Winners of Maynard Awards Thurs., May 1, 2014

scholar-athlete dinner pic 2014With a dinner held in Beckham Hall at Fayerweather Thurs., May 1, the Wesleyan athletic department recognized the accomplishments of 173 scholar-athletes while announcing the winners of the Roger Maynard Memorial Award, presented annunally to the top senior male and female scholar-athlete at the University.  This year's recipients are John Steele '14 (second from left in bottom photo) and Mary Foster '14 (second from right in bottom photo).  Both are seen with their head coach, Shona Kerr, along with athletics director Mike Whalen.

Those invited to the gathering were members of the sophomore, junior and senior classes who had distinguished themselves both in the classroom with a minimium GPA of 3.2 and in athletic competition as a significant contributor to the success of their chosen sport(s). 

Both Steele and Foster had the distinction of playing number one for the men's and women's squash teams, respectively, for four seasons.  Steele was a four-time first-team all-NESCAC selection as well as NESCAC Rookie of the Year in 2010-11.  In the final national rankings for 2013-14, Steele was 54th among all college squash player, 23rd in Division III and 11th in the NESCAC.  Foster, also a four-time all-NESCAC honoree, three times on the first-team and once on the second-team, was ranked 85th nationally in 2013-14 but similarly positioned in Division III and the NESCAC as Steele, 20th and 16th, respectively.  Steele also was a finalist for the presitigious College Squash Association's Skillman Award, presented annually to an outstanding senior player who exhibits the finest in sportsmanship thjroughout his career. 

Wesleyan's Maynard Award, established in memory of Roger Maynard '37 by his family, recognizes the finest combination of athletic achievement and academic accomplishment among the senior student-athletes each year.  It was first awarded in 1970 with women added to the honorees in 1977.

frank sica - aac award-2014Also presented during the dinner was the Cardinal Award, an annual honor bestowed by the Athletic Advisory Council (AAC) to an individual who has provided outstanding service to Wesleyan athletics.  This year's recipient is Frank Sica '73 (left in photo to right).  The award was presented by Dan Lynch '80, P'11, P'14, co-chair of the AAC (right in above photo).


maynard award 2014