Mens Lacrosse

Defenders Brendan Hanley '13 & Lex Johnson '13 Are Second-Team All-NESCAC in Men's Lax

Following a solid 9-6 season in 2012 which featured a 5-5 NESCAC mark and the #6 seed in the NESCAC tournament, Wesleyan placed two individuals on the all-NESCAC squad.  Defender Lex Johnson '13 (#10, right side of photo) and long-pole middie Brendan Hanley '13 (#5, left side of photo) both made the second team.  Wesleyan featured the top defense in the NESCAC by a wide margin through the first round of the NESCAC tournament as Wesleyan yielded a mere 5.98 goals a game during the year.  Next best among NESCAC squads was Bowdoin, which knocked the Cardinals out of the playoffs with a first-round 6-4 victory Sat., April 28, with a 7.38 figure.  Through games of April 29, Wesleyan ranked 10th nationally in Division III for scoring defense.

Johnson started all 15 games for the Cardinals and racked up 30 ground balls while causing 13 turnovers.  Hanley, the team's starting long-pole middie, played in 14 games and had 28 ground balls along with a team-leading 19 caused turnovers.  Not averse to heading toward the opposing team's net with an offensive opportunity, Hanley fired in five goals from his 13 shot attempts and added an assist for six scoring points.  Johnson had one assist for the Cardinals.

Other statistical leaders for Wesleyan during the year were goalie Grant Covington '12, who ranked first in the NESCAC and among the top-10 nationally in Division III with his 5.86 goals-against average and 65.1 save percentage.  John Froats '12 paced the team in both goals, with 20, and points with 29 as he added nine assists.  Next highest in the goals department was Teddy Citrin '12 with 19 while Aidan Daniell '14 was second in points with 28.  Max Landow '12 was tops in assists with 13.  While Covington was the ground-bal leader with 44, defensive middle Sam Staton '14 was best among field players with 42.

A highlight for the year was a Little Three title for the Cardinals by virtue of their wins over Williams (9-4) and Amherst (6-3).  Wesleyan has either won an outright Little Three title or tied for the crown 11 times in the 13 seasons since 2000.

(photo courtesy of Oliver Citrin '14)