Logo: Wesleyan Athletics

Cardinals Have 13 Letterwinners Back from 2007 Season to Give Team a Solid Nucleus in 2008

Wesleyan Field Hockey 2008 Key Returnees

Led by co-captains Hailey Sarage '09 (#1, right in photo) and Molly O'Connell '09 (#12, left in photo), the Cardinals have six starters and 13 letterwinners back from their 7-8 squad of 2007. Wesleyan lost three strong offensive talents in Amanda Nickels '08, Adrienne Shea '08 and Maddie Rottman '08, who combined for 11 of the team's 25 goals a year ago. Also gone is defensive stalwart Tory Whitney '08, who was a 2007 second-team all-NESCAC pick along with returning goalie Breen McDonald '10. But joining defender O'Connell, McDonald and attacker Sarage, who tied for the team lead with five goals last season, are starters Alexa David '10, Allie Lynch '11 and Jamie Thabault '11. Also back are Liz Gauvey-Kern '11, Alex Bean '11, Stephanie Brodsky '09, Elle Celeste '10, Lila Creighton '11, Caitlin Kent '10 and Hilary Nabhan '11, a majority of whom started at least one game in 2007. Head Coach Patti Klecha-Porter expects eight newcomers to round out the roster for the preseason, in preparation for the season opener Sat., Sept. 6 at Tufts.